ChennaiPatrika   »   News   »   Political News

Rahul Gandhi’s next foreign trip will be to Canada, Singapore

January 09, 2018

MANAMA: After Bahrain, Congress President Rahul Gandhi’s next foreign trip would be to countries like Canada and Singapore followed by another one to the Middle East. Gandhi visited Bahrain as a part of his outreach to the Indian diaspora. His outreach is seen as a move to popularise the Congress among the Indian diaspora. He said this duri...


Good governance led to impressive victories: Modi

December 18, 2017

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday said the "impressive victories" in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh showed there was strong support for the "politics of good governance and development". "Election results in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh indicate a strong support for politics of good governance and development. I salute the hardworkin...


Rahul Gandhi elected Congress President

December 11, 2017

NEW DELHI: Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi was on Monday elected the President of the country's oldest political party, Returning Officer Mullappally Ramachandran announced here on Monday. ...


Mayawati demands ballot paper-based Lok Sabha polls in 2019

December 02, 2017

LUCKNOW: Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati on Saturday demanded voting through ballot paper in the 2019 general elections. Flush with the victory in two mayoral seats in municipal corporations of Aligarh and Meerut, the Dalit leader repeated her demand for a ballot paper-based election in 2019. She p...