Chennaipatrika  »  News  »  Press Release

Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship

October 12,2017  

Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship
Ajay Malik the boy from Haryana who won the Boys U 14 Fenesta Junior Nationals in 2016 had a tight rope walk as he played in both age categories of the Juniors Fenesta Open Nationals on Wednesday at DLTA..............

'Ajay Malik, Boys Singles 14, Fenesta Open 2017'

11th October 2017: Ajay Malik the boy from Haryana who won the Boys U 14 Fenesta Junior Nationals in 2016 had a tight rope walk as he played in both age categories of the Juniors Fenesta Open Nationals on Wednesday at DLTA.

In his first match of the day in the Boys U 16 Ajay was beaten by Krish Patel 7-6(1), 6-0 and in his next match of Boys U 14 the fourth seed Ajay Malik came back to stay in the championship beating  Arjun A Kundu 6-2,6-1. 

Ajay Mailk said, “I will be focusing more on my match tomorrow and giving my best."

The top seed Madhwin Kamath showed he is in fine nick as he prevailed over Vansh Bhagtani 6-3, 6-1 in the round of 16 stage in the under-16. Playing percentage tennis and not attempting anything extraordinary, Madhwin had little trouble in advancing towards the quarter-finals.  “I am feeling very good as I am playing at the peak of my game and am performing well. I expect to win more and that’s a good game that I am playing. I am also hoping to win the tournament. “he said.

Second seed Dev V Javia was again in the comfort zone as he beat Shashikant Rajput with a measure of comfort at 6-1, 6-4.

There was a mild struggle for Nishant Dabas from Delhi as he upset Tamil Nadu's S. Boopathy 2-6, 6-0, 6-3. In a match of fluctuating fortunes, Nishant showed good mental strength in the decider.

In the under-16 girls' section, top seed Tanisha Kashyap was in the zone as she whacked Ameek Kiran Batth 6-1, 6-0. Tanisha said she was enjoying her tennis.

“I feel great about winning today but I feel that I also need to keep on working hard and this is a small step. I have bigger targets and bigger goals. I just want to work hard and keep at it," said Tanisha.

Bhakti Bharat Parwani used her variety of strokes and mental strength to prevail over RutuparnaChoudhary in a gut wrencher. Bhakti won 7-6 (7/3), 2-6, 6-3 against the 14th seed.

Sudipta Senthil Kumar from Maharashtra teased Poorvi Bhaatina 6-2, 6-0 win in the under-14 girls pre quarter finals. Said Sudipta: “After I won the match, I was very happy. I was also feeling confident because maybe last year if I would have played the same play, I would have won. This year, because I improved, I am excited and I am waiting for tomorrow’s match.”

Nishant Dabas moved ahead in boys' under-14 with a clean 6-1, 6-2 win against Dhanya k. Shah. However, second seed UditGogoi struggled for a 6-2, 2-6, 6-3 passage into the quarter-finals.


Round of 16 Results:



MadhwinKamath[GJ](Seed 1) btVanshBhagtani[GJ] 6-3,6-1;

Dev V Javia[GJ](Seed2) btShashikant Rajput[HR] 6-1,6-4;

Sandeep V.M. [TN](Seed 3) btDiveshGahlot[HR](Seed 13)  6-2,6-3;

KushanShah[GJ](Seed 6) btAaryanPandit[HR] 6-3,6-1;

Kevin MrugeshPatel[GJ](Seed 8) btUditGogoi[AS](Seed 12) 6-1,6-3;

Nishant Dabas[DL] upsets Boopathy S[TN](Seed 9) 2-6,6-0,6-3;

Krish Patel[GJ] bt Ajay Malik[HR] 7-6(1),6-0;

Mann Maulik Shah[GJ] bt Bhupender Dahiya[HR] 6-0,6-1;



Tanisha Kashyap [AS] (Seed 1) btAmeek Kiran Batth [OD] 6-1,6-0;

Prinkle Singh [CH] (Seed 2) btSrishtiDhir [CH] 6-1,6-0;

Bhakti Bharat Parwani [GJ] (Seed 3) btRutuparnaChoudhary [OD](Seed 14) 7-6(3),2-6,6-3;

Prerna V Vichare [MH] (Seed 4) btAeshaHitenPatel[GJ] 6-1,6-1;

MubashiraAnjum Shaik [TS] (Seed 5) btSanya Singh [MH] 6-7,6-2,7-6;

KaavyaSawhney [PB] (Seed 6) btGargi P Pawar [MH] 6-2, 6-1

Sharannya Vijay Gaware [MH] upsets SunskrithiDamera [TS] (Seed 8) 7-5,6-4;

Sarah Dev [PB] (Seed 11) btRichaDadasahebChougule [MH] 6-7(4),6-1,6-1;



Nishant Dabas [DL] (Seed 1) bt  Dhanya K Shah [GJ] (Seed 16) 6-1,6-2;

UditGogoi [AS] (Seed 2) bt Chirag Duhan [HR] (Seed 14) 6-2,2-6,6-3;

Krishan Hooda [HR] (Seed 3) btRudra Kapoor [UP] (Seed 15)6-2,6-2;

Ajay Malik [HR] (Seed 4) bt Arjun A Kundu [GJ] (Seed 13) 6-2,6-1;

Sushant Dabas [HR] (Seed 5) btSanjithDevineni [KA] (Seed 12) 6-2,6-4;

DhruvTangri [PB] (Seed 6) btAmrutjayMohanty [OD] 6-3,6-4;

Denim Yadav [MP] (Seed 7) bt Abhishek Mohapatra [OD] (Seed 11) 6-3,4-6,6-2;

Aman Dahiya [HR] (Seed 8) bt Nikhil ThirumaleNiranjan [KA] (Seed 9) 6-4,6-4;



Gargi P Pawar[MH] (Seed 1) btMushrathAnjum Shaik [TS] (Seed 13) 6-4,7-5;

Sandeepti Singh Rao [HR] (Seed 2) btPoorvi Bhatt [UP] 6-0,6-2;

Sudipta Senthil Kumar [MH] (Seed 3) bt Kristi Bora [AS] 6-3,6-4;

SrujanaRayarala [TS] (Seed 4) bt Yana Dhamija [HR] (Seed 14) 3-6,6-2,6-0;

PriyanshiSankesh Bhandari [GJ] (Seed 5) btVidhiNimesh Jani [GJ] 6-4,6-2;

SanjanaSirimalla [TS] (Seed 7) btNaishaSrivastav [KA] (Seed 10) 6-4,6-2;

Anjali Rathi [HR] upsets Bhakti Shah [TS] (Seed 12) 7-6(4),7-5;

Rutuja M Chapalkar [MH] bt Divya Bhardwaj [GJ] 6-3,6-2;